Canadian Canoe Museum Announces Their National Council

Canadian Canoe Museum Announces Their National Council

The Canadian Canoe Museum announced that 32 distinguished individuals would become their national council, who will lend their names in support of the museum’s ambitious agenda of reinvention and relocation, and will serve as special advisors.

Each member of our National Council is inspiring in his or her own right. By bringing them together, we have the opportunity to demonstrate the breadth, depth and diversity of distinguished Canadians who support the museum and its mission. We expect that together, we will be able to reach further, inspiring individuals, groups and communities from coast to coast to coast, to join us in the important work ahead.
— Dr. James Raffan, Director of External Relations, The Canadian Canoe Museum

National Council: Fall 2018

His Royal Highness, Prince Andrew, The Duke of York, who has been the museum’s Royal Patron since

2007, is Honourary Chair of the National Council.

Shelley Ambrose – Publisher, The Walrus and Executive Director, The Walrus Foundation

Stephen Augustine – Hereditary Chief, Sigenigtog District Mi’kmawey Mawiomi, Associate Vice President, Indigenous Affairs and Unama’ki College

Bob Baun – Former NHL Player, Businessman and Ontario Sports Hall of Fame Inductee

Rick and Priscilla Brooks-Hill – Community Builders and Philanthropists

Bill Buxton – Paddler, Public Intellectual and Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research

Hiawatha First Nation Chief Laurie Carr – First Nations Leader and Community Builder

Wendy Cecil – Philanthropist and Former Chancellor, Victoria University (U of T)

Chuck Commanda – Bark Canoe Builder and Culturalist

Matthew Coon Come – Cree Politician, Activist and Former National Chief Assembly of First


Claude Cousineau – Professor of Recreation and Co-Founder, National Canoe Schools and

Canadian Recreational Canoeing Association

Bob Gainey – NHL Player, General Manager, Hockey Hall of Fame Inductee and Philanthropist

Victoria Grant – Teme-Augama Anishnabai Qway, Past Chair, Community Foundations of


Geoff Green – Community Builder and Founder, Students on Ice Foundation

Ted Johnson – Paddler, Philanthropist and Community Builder

Philip Lee – Journalist and Professor

Roy MacGregor – Paddler, Writer and Globe and Mail Columnist

Scott MacGregor – Publisher and CEO, Rapid Media

Peter Mansbridge – Broadcaster and Former Chancellor, Mount Allison University

Larry McDermott – Member Shabot Obaadjiwan First Nation, Commissioner of Ontario Human Rights Commission and Executive Director, Plenty Canada

Mark McLean – Paddler and Philanthropist

Craig Oliver – Legendary Wilderness Paddler and Broadcaster

Aaju Peter – Inuk Lawyer and Activist

Valerie Pringle – TV Host, Journalist and Chair, The Great Trail

Shelagh Rogers – Broadcast-Journalist, Truth and Reconciliation Commission Honorary Witness

Andrew Stewart – Archaeologist and Board Member, McLean Foundation

Jim & Katie Stewart – Sprint Paddler, Philanthropists

Les Stroud – TV Personality, Filmmaker and Musician

Adam van Koeverden – Olympic and World Champion Kayaker

Curve Lake First Nation Chief Phyllis Williams – First Nations Leader and Community Builder